Nozzle Notes

Bambu Lab A1 vs Bambu Lab P1S

Same build volume, but the P1S is enclosed and lists double the acceleration; the A1 is open and much lighter.

Short verdict

Both printers list a 256 x 256 x 256 mm (16.8 L) build volume, a 300 °C nozzle, a 100 °C bed and a 500 mm/s maximum speed. The real split is the enclosure: the P1S is enclosed and the A1 is open-frame, and Bambu says it does not recommend enclosing the A1.

The P1S also lists 20,000 mm/s² acceleration against 10,000 on the A1, and supports up to 16 colours with four AMS units, against up to 4 colours on the A1 with the AMS lite. The A1 weighs 8.3 kg against 12.95 kg. If you want to print materials that benefit from an enclosure, the P1S is the one with the hardware for it. If you want the lighter, open printer, that is the A1.

Based on published specs only. We have not tested either printer.

Specs side by side

SpecificationBambu Lab A1Bambu LabBambu Lab P1SBambu Lab
Design
Motion systemCartesian (bed moves on Y axis, toolhead on X)Wiki: "utilizes a Cartesian coordinate motion system"; heatbed slides on the Y-axis rail.CoreXYWiki page is the P1P introduction ("P1P and P1S share the same motion system"); the store spec table compares P1P and P1S side by side.
EnclosedNoStore FAQ cites the "open-frame design" and says "We don't recommend enclosing the A1".YesStore spec table: Shell "Enclosed (Plastic & Glass)" for the P1S.
Build volume (mm)256 x 256 x 256256 x 256 x 256Shared P1P/P1S figure. Default printable height in Bambu Studio is 250 mm; the remaining 6 mm needs a safety step per the maker.
Build volume (litres)16.8 LComputed from 256 x 256 x 256.16.8 LComputed from 256 x 256 x 256.
Weight8.3 kgNet weight of the A1 (without AMS lite).12.95 kgNet weight of the P1S (P1P is 9.65 kg).
Printing
Max nozzle temperature300°C300°C
Max bed temperature100°C100°C
Max print speed500 mm/sMaker lists this as "Max Speed of Tool Head".500 mm/sMaker lists this as "Max Speed of Tool Head".
Max acceleration10000 mm/s²Maker lists this as "Max Acceleration of Tool Head".20000 mm/s²HigherMaker lists "20 m/s²" as "Max Acceleration of Tool Head"; converted to mm/s².
Standard nozzle0.4 mmStainless steel; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm also offered.0.4 mmStainless steel; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional.
Features
Multicolour / multi-materialAMS lite (A1 Combo), up to 4 coloursStore FAQ: only one AMS lite supported, max 4 colours; AMS / AMS 2 Pro / AMS HT possible via the AMS HUB accessory.AMS / AMS 2 Pro (combos), up to 16 colours with 4 AMS units
Bed levellingAutomatic: nozzle-contact probing, 7 x 7 grid (49 points) height mapAutomatic bed levelling (ABL)Store: calibrations include Auto-Bed Leveling and vibration compensation; wiki also lists ABL: Yes.
Built-in cameraYesLow frame rate camera (up to 1080P), timelapse supported.YesLow rate camera, 1280 x 720 at 0.5 fps, timelapse supported.
ScreenNot publishedMaker pages call it a touchscreen but give no size.2.7-inch 192x64 screenWiki page is the P1P introduction ("P1P and P1S share the same motion system"); the store spec table compares P1P and P1S side by side.
ConnectivityWi-Fi and Bluetooth (mainboard SoC); Bambu Cloud or LAN-only modeWiki describes the SoC as having Wi-Fi and Bluetooth basebands; the store page lists Bambu Cloud and LAN-only mode.Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Bambu-Bus; micro SD storageWiki page is the P1P introduction ("P1P and P1S share the same motion system"); the store spec table compares P1P and P1S side by side.
Filament runout sensorYesYes
LaunchedNot publishedNot stated on the maker pages checked.Not publishedNot stated on the maker pages checked.

Specs checked against the maker's pages on 2026-10-10. Want a different pairing? Open this in the comparison tool to add a third printer.

Read more