Nozzle Notes

Bambu Lab A1 vs Bambu Lab A1 mini

The A1 has the larger bed; the A1 mini is the smaller, lighter, cheaper-to-house option.

Short verdict

On the published specs the two share most of their design: both are open, both list a 500 mm/s maximum speed and 10,000 mm/s² acceleration, and both pair with the AMS lite for multicolour printing. The differences are about size and heat.

The A1 gives you 256 x 256 x 256 mm (16.8 L) against 180 x 180 x 180 mm (5.8 L) on the A1 mini, a bed that is almost three times the volume. It also lists a 100 °C bed against 80 °C. The A1 mini weighs 5.5 kg against 8.3 kg, so it is easier to find a spot for. If you only ever print small parts and space is tight, the mini's specs are enough; if you want room to grow, the A1's extra volume is the main reason to pick it.

Based on published specs only. We have not tested either printer.

Specs side by side

SpecificationBambu Lab A1Bambu LabBambu Lab A1 miniBambu Lab
Design
Motion systemCartesian (bed moves on Y axis, toolhead on X)Wiki: "utilizes a Cartesian coordinate motion system"; heatbed slides on the Y-axis rail.Cartesian (print platform moves on Y axis, printhead on X)Wiki: "utilizes a Cartesian coordinate motion system".
EnclosedNoStore FAQ cites the "open-frame design" and says "We don't recommend enclosing the A1".Not publishedMaker pages do not say open or enclosed outright; the store FAQ only says it prints materials "that don't require an enclosure".
Build volume (mm)256 x 256 x 256180 x 180 x 180
Build volume (litres)16.8 LHigherComputed from 256 x 256 x 256.5.8 LComputed from 180 x 180 x 180.
Weight8.3 kgNet weight of the A1 (without AMS lite).5.5 kgNet weight of the A1 mini (without AMS lite).
Printing
Max nozzle temperature300°C300°C
Max bed temperature100°CHigher80°C
Max print speed500 mm/sMaker lists this as "Max Speed of Tool Head".500 mm/sMaker lists this as "Max Speed of Tool Head".
Max acceleration10000 mm/s²Maker lists this as "Max Acceleration of Tool Head".10000 mm/s²Maker lists this as "Max Acceleration of Tool Head".
Standard nozzle0.4 mmStainless steel; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm also offered.0.4 mmStainless steel; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm also offered.
Features
Multicolour / multi-materialAMS lite (A1 Combo), up to 4 coloursStore FAQ: only one AMS lite supported, max 4 colours; AMS / AMS 2 Pro / AMS HT possible via the AMS HUB accessory.AMS lite (A1 mini Combo)Store FAQ: AMS lite is required for multicolour and the standard AMS is incompatible. Maximum colour count not stated on this page.
Bed levellingAutomatic: nozzle-contact probing, 7 x 7 grid (49 points) height mapAutomatic: nozzle-contact probing, 6 x 6 grid (36 points) height map
Built-in cameraYesLow frame rate camera (up to 1080P), timelapse supported.YesLow framerate camera (up to 1080P), timelapse supported.
ScreenNot publishedMaker pages call it a touchscreen but give no size.Not publishedMaker pages call it a touchscreen but give no size.
ConnectivityWi-Fi and Bluetooth (mainboard SoC); Bambu Cloud or LAN-only modeWiki describes the SoC as having Wi-Fi and Bluetooth basebands; the store page lists Bambu Cloud and LAN-only mode.Wi-Fi and Bluetooth (mainboard SoC)Wiki describes the SoC as having Wi-Fi and Bluetooth basebands.
Filament runout sensorYesYes
LaunchedNot publishedNot stated on the maker pages checked.Not publishedNot stated on the maker pages checked.

Specs checked against the maker's pages on 2026-10-10. Want a different pairing? Open this in the comparison tool to add a third printer.

Read more